​​America Celebrates the 45th Anniversary of Apollo 16 set for June 7

A star-studded forum of astronauts and mission control directors will share in-depth personal experiences from NASA’s legendary Mercury, Gemini and Apollo space programs with Museum guests during a rare special event, “America Celebrates the 45th Anniversary of Apollo 16,” at the San Diego Air & Space Museum in Balboa Park on Wednesday, June 7.

Tickets are going fast! Limited seats are available. Click here to buy tickets today!

Confirmed attendees as of this blog post:

Charlie Duke – Apollo 16. The youngest astronaut to walk on the moon and CAPCOM for Apollo 11 – the historic first moon landing.

Walt Cunningham – Apollo 7. The first manned Apollo flight, following the disastrous Apollo 1 fire. Cunningham, Wally Schirra and Donn Eisele restored American confidence in space flight, leading to a moon landing less than a year later.

Al Worden – Apollo 15. As Command Module Pilot for Apollo 15, the first extended scientific exploration of our moon, Worden spent six days orbiting our neighbor in space, including three days completely alone, the most isolated human in existence.

Gerry Griffin – Lead Flight Director for three moon landings – Apollo 12, 15 and 17 – and a key figure in resolving the Apollo 13 crisis. Griffin’s NASA vision was always forward looking, and he routinely consults on matters related to future deep space exploration.

Fred Haise – Apollo 13, Space Shuttle Enterprise. As Lunar Module Pilot for Apollo 13, Fred Haise planned to land on the surface of the moon and make a series of explorations. Instead, he battled to survive the journey around the moon and back home. He had previously served on the backup crews for Apollo 8 and Apollo 11. Later, he flew Space Shuttle Enterprise to three successful test landings, clearing the way for the shuttle to fly in space.

Glynn Lunney – Apollo 13 Flight Director. During the Apollo 13 crisis, Lunney and his team faced the challenge of having to power up the lunar module, while transferring guidance and navigation data to it from the dying command module. An employee of NASA from its creation in 1958, and a key figure from the Mercury missions through to the Space Shuttle era, including overseeing the first international space mission.

Other invited VIPs (awaiting response):

Bill Anders – Apollo 8. Along with Jim Lovell and Frank Borman, Apollo 8 was the very first mission ever to leave earth orbit and reach the moon. Anders’ photo – ‘earthrise’ – above the lunar horizon revolutionized how we see our home planet.

Gene Kranz – Apollo 13, Lead Flight Director (key character in the Apollo 13 movie).

Joe Engle – Apollo and Space Shuttle programs, the last living X-15 rocket plane pilot.

Tom Stafford – Apollo 10, Apollo-Soyuz, Gemini 6, Gemini 9.

David Scott – Apollo 9, Apollo 15 moonwalker, Gemini 8.

Dick Gordon – Apollo 12, Gemini 11.

Michael Collins – Apollo 11, the historic first moon landing, Gemini 10.

Twenty-four Americans journeyed to the moon in just four years – from 1968 to 1972. Lunar exploration hit new heights during the last two of those four years, with extended stays on the moon, ambitious exploration on the surface and from orbit, and long journeys in electric powered lunar rovers.

Apollo 16 is considered by many one of the high points of space exploration and one of the most ambitious scientific expeditions ever. The astronauts’ accomplishments were made possible through the hard work of a team of hundreds of dedicated men and women who spent more than ten years focusing on successfully landing on the moon.

For more information and to purchase tickets for “America Celebrates the 45th Anniversary of Apollo 16” visit http://sandiegoairandspace.org/calendar/event/america-celebrates-the-45th-anniversary-of-apollo-16.

San Diego Air & Space Museum

Subscribe to our E-Newsletter

Get Social with SDASM