The Museum Gift Shop will be closed January 25 - 27.

Preschool Programs

Little Engineers Spring 2022 Taste of Science

Little Engineers is a hands-on STEM enrichment program that introduces children to science and engineering through creativity and fun. Our child-centered classes build school-ready skills by encouraging observation, communication, and problem solving.

Ready to Register? Click here

Explore the different worlds of science from Biology, to Physics, to Earth Science in these Taste of Science classes. We will start each class with a brief descriptions of science concepts and then have fun experimenting with science and creating art using the concept of the day. Each month will feature a different science, though each class will stand alone so you can attend 1 or all of them. 

When: Wednesday mornings 9-10 AM

What: Discuss science, experience hands-on activites, private museum exploration.

January: Animals

Wed Jan 5 Flying Creatures

Wed Jan 12 Bugs

Wed Jan 19 Reptiles

Wed Jan 26 Dinosaurs

February: Physics

Wed Feb 2 Gravity

Wed Feb 9 Newton's Laws

Special Sat Session Feb 12 Flight also includes Imagine the Future of Flight Family day 

Wed Feb 16 Light and Color

Wed Feb 23 Magnets and Electricity

March: Earth Science

Wed March 2 Weather

Wed March 9 Rocks and Minerals

Wed March 16 Biomes

Wed March 23 Oceans

Wed March 30 Climate Solutions

April: Simple Machines

Wed April 6 Wheels and Inclined Planes

Wed April 13 Screws and Levers

Wed April 20 Pulleys and Wedge

Wed April 27 Gears and More

May: Out of this World

Wed May 4 Moon

Wed May 11 Stars

Wed May 18 Planets

Wed May 25 Sun

June: Bonus Sessions

Wed June 1 Bubbles

Wed June 8 Concotions

Price $22 for parent child combo; includes Museum Admission

NEW Buy 3 Get 1 FREE

Click here to register! 

 


Frequently Asked Questions 

Can I register two children?

Of course, as long as both are ages 3-5.
 

What sorts of safety precautions do you have in place?

In addition to requiring all guests and staff to wear face coverings in class, our class takes place before any of the general public has entered the Musuem, our classroom is sanitized frequently, and materials will be individual whenever possible. 
 

Can we stay to explore the Museum more after class?

Absolutely! 
 

Can I take only one class? All of the classes? Does my child need to know anything in particular to participate?

Classes are designed to be stand-alone lessons, with no prerequisite knowledge or skills besides a willingness to be curious and have fun! Feel free to pick your favorite or sign up for them all. 
 

Are we only going to learn about planes?

Not at all! While we love aviation, Little Engineers encourages children to ask questions about the world around them, and find the science and engineering in their everyday lives. 
 

My child is bright and chatty/shy and methodical/full of energy/not reading yet/reading at a third grade level. Will they be a good fit for this program?

Absolutely. Our lesson plans are highly flexible and child-driven, and all activities are easily adapted to any ability level. Most importantly, our main goal is to have fun!
 

Who will be teaching the class?

Ms. Jamie has over twelve years of experience in early childhood education, but she still wants to be an astronaut when she grows up. She loves roller coasters, puppies, and her favorite planet is Mars. 

Ms. Mia is an aspiring chef and a cat mom, but spends most of her time as a teacher. She loves singing, hiking, and learning everything she can about insects.
 

Still have more questions? 

Contact us at education@sdasm.org

San Diego Air & Space Museum

Subscribe to our E-Newsletter

Get Social with SDASM