Effective November 10, 2020 the Museum’s Resident Free Tuesday will switch to the 2nd Tuesday of each month. October Free Tuesday will remain the 4thTuesday, October 27.    

2017 International Air & Space Induction Celebration

2017 International Air & Space Induction Celebration

The International Air & Space Hall of Fame Induction Celebration will introduce its Distinguished Class of 2017 on Thursday, November 9, in the San Diego Air & Space Museum’s Pavilion of Flight.

Confirmed 2017 honorees include:

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
With more than 30,000 members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA is the world’s most significant technical society actively contributing to global aerospace excellence. Created in 1963 by the merger of the two great aerospace societies of the day -- the American Rocket Society and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences -- AIAA carries forth a proud tradition of more than 80 years of aerospace leadership. America’s innovative spirit is resident in the expertise of AIAA, and virtually every industry leader worldwide benefits from their technical leadership.

The Atlas Rocket Program
The Atlas was America’s first Intercontinental Ballistic Missile and also the most significant space launch vehicle in history. The Atlas legacy continues today under the leadership of United Launch Alliance…the spirit of space exploration. No space launch vehicle program ever has achieved the success of the early Atlas pioneers and today’s follow-on innovators.

Hudson B. Drake
Former president of Ryan Electronics and the Ryan Aeronautical Companies, a legendary game-changer in the many fields of aerospace, defense, and electronics for more than four decades. In 1972 he joined Teledyne and was president of Ryan Electronics, and subsequently, the Ryan Aeronautical Companies. Known for his superb team-culture development within the industry, his leadership guaranteed results, on-time, every time! Still advising industry, Hudson is a consummate professional, sought after on matters requiring a keen business acumen.

Embry-Riddle’s Golden Eagles Flight Team
The winningest intercollegiate flying team of the last two decades! 30 consecutive regional championships and 11 National championships, including back-to-back nationals in 2016 and 2017. Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott campus’ Golden Eagles Flight Team does it all: hardworking students striving to continue a long-standing legacy of pride, academic excellence, and competitive superiority. They are the best!

John Herrington
Retired US Naval Aviator and former NASA astronaut, CDR Herrington made history as the first enrolled member of a Native American tribe to fly in space. A Chickasaw American Indian, Herrington flew aboard the Space Shuttle Endeavour in November 2002. He returned to Earth in December 2002 after spending 13 days, 18 hours and 47 minutes in space. During the mission, Herrington performed three spacewalks, the first Native American to walk in space.

Christa McAuliffe
In 1985, McAuliffe was selected from more than 11,000 applicants to participate in the NASA Teacher in Space Project destined to be the first teacher in space. As a member of mission STS-51-L, she planned to conduct experiments and teach two lessons from Space Shuttle Challenger. On January 28, 1986, the shuttle broke apart 73 seconds after launch. After her death, schools and scholarships were named in her honor, and in 2004 she was posthumously awarded the Congressional Space Medal of Honor. Our first teacher to accomplish astronaut status!

John J. Montgomery
San Diego’s own aviation pioneer, inventor, professor, and physicist, February 15, 1858 – October 31, 1911. Best known for his invention of controlled heavier-than-air flying machines. In 1946, Columbia Pictures released a full-length movie titled Gallant Journey based on his life and work. He provided many of aviation’s earliest innovative concepts…the West Coast…third Wright Brother!

Chance Vought
The story of Vought Aircraft Company begins with Chance Vought, an American aviation pioneer and engineer. His first aircraft design, the Mayo-Vought Simplex, was built in 1914, and first flew in May of 1915. His ingenuity ensured more than 15,000 aircraft and missiles bearing the Vought name were built. A legend of the aerospace history, his efforts led to the creation of the famed F-8 Crusader and A-7 Corsair II, workhorses of Naval Aviation and game changers in combat.

Guests from around the world join the honorees for a spectacular evening of fun and extraordinary recognition, as each attendee is offered an experiential peek into the lives of these air and space legends.

Since 1963, the International Air & Space Hall of Fame has honored more than 200 of the world’s most significant aviation pilots, crew members, visionaries, inventors, aerospace engineers, business leaders, preservationists, designers and space pioneers.

Each honoree is selected for qualitative achievements and historic contributions to aviation, space or aerospace innovation, or expanding the public’s aviation and space awareness to the world. Their individual contributions are prime examples of endurance and the adventurous exploring spirit in the pursuit of knowledge and scientific advancement to benefit the world.

Schedule of Events:

5:30 pm – VIP Reception

6:15 – 6:45 pm – Cocktail Reception

7:00 pm – Dinner

7:15 – Introductions

7:45 – Program

Partnerships & Sponsorship Information:

For partnership and additional information please contact Diane Sutherland at (619) 234-8291 x109 or email at dsutherland@sdasm.org.


San Diego Air & Space Museum

Subscribe to our E-Newsletter

Get Social with SDASM